About Us

The County of Union has a commission form of government. Commissioners are elected at-large to six-year terms and one of two Commissioners are elected at each General Election in November of even-numbered years. The Board consists of five (5) members.

The Union County Board of Commissioners deal with a variety of issues relating to the management of the County which includes the annual budget, consideration of ordinances and resolutions, approval of claims of all County departments, negotiation and approval of labor contracts, animal control issues, Highway Department issues and other duties relating to the day-to-day operations of the County. The Commissioners elect the Chairman and Vice Chairman each year from their ranks.

The Union County Board of Commissioners have regular meeting on the second and fourth Friday of each month which are open to the public. At times, special meetings may be held from time to time. By statute, the County Clerk is the Clerk of the County Board of Commissioners and keeps all records pertaining to official Board action. The County Clerk attests all documents acted upon by the Board of Commissioners and prepares the minutes, or written record of each meeting’s actions, for approval. The State’s Attorney is legal adviser to the County Board of Commissioners.

The total operating budget for the County of Union is approximately $13.9 million and there are approximately sixty (60) employees within the county government.

Permanent link to this article: https://blog.unioncountyil.gov/?page_id=2


County Board of Commissioners Max Miller, Chairman Bobby Toler, Jr., Vice Chairman David Gould, Commissioner Kent Pitts, Commissioner Dale Foster, Commissioner 309 W. Market Street, Rm 116 Jonesboro, Illinois 62952 (618) 833-8276 The County of Union has a commission form of government. Commissioners are elected at large to six-year terms and one Commissioner is elected at …

View page »


911 Crystal Gurley, Administrator Telephone: (618) 833-5442 Fax: (618) 833-4011 Email: cgurley@unioncountyil.gov Postal Address: 309 W. Market Street; Rm 016; Jonesboro, IL 62952 Website: n/a Social Media: n/a Ambulance Service Grant Capel, Director Telephone: (618) 833-2871 Fax: (618) 833-6201 Email: ucas@unioncountyil.gov Address: 204 W. Mississippi St.; Jonesboro, IL 62952 Mailing Address: P.O. Box is 37; Jonesboro, IL 62952 Website: n/a Social Media: Facebook …

View page »


A History of the Fourth Union County Courthouse

View page »


Union County is not currently under contract with any lobbying associations nor has it been within the previous five years. Various departments within the county are dues paying members of the following: The National Association of Counties The Illinois Association of County Officials The National District Attorney’s Association The Illinois State’s Attorneys Association The Illinois …

View page »